Australia is a representative democracy in which all Australians over 18 years vote for people to represent them, and make decisions on their behalf. There are three levels of government in Australia, and we vote to elect representatives to each of these levels: federal, state or territory and local (AEC, 2015). For more information see Role of Government Brochure. 

Murrumbateman residents fall into the following federal, state and local electorates.

  1. Federal Electoral Division is Eden-Monaro
  2. State Electoral District is Goulburn
  3. Local Government Area is Yass Valley Council

The following federal, state and local members represent Murrumbateman.

  1. Federal Member for Eden-Monaro, Mike Kelley MP
  2. NSW Member for Goulburn, Pru Goward MP
  3. Yass Valley Council: Mayor, Councillor Rowena Abbey + 8 Councillors

Last Updated 14/03/2017